ARMS - Autonomous Reef Monitoring Structures

ARMS boxes are small, tiered platforms [grey, on the right] made of piled up plates of PVC, separated by spacers, affixed to the seafloor that are deployed for one to three years. Once these structures are recovered, each plate will be photographied, and the organisms collected, then the scientists will perform genomic analyses on the organisms which had settled on the ARMS in order to create a catalogue of diversity which will be compared to sites around the world.

An ASUs Artificial Substrate Units [yellow, on the left], conceived to imitate the cramps of algae, completes the installation. It is made up of four pan scourers tied together on a stake planted in the vicinity of a ARMS. The mesh layers and holes within the scourers provide a plethora of living spaces for various organisms. Once removed from the water, they will be preserved and the animals which settled there will be identified, weighed and counted.

They were originally created to monitor coral reefs diversity. Their expansion along the European coasts became possible thanks to the programme DEVOTES.

Knowledge of these lesser-known organisms and the overall diversity of the reef is critical to effectively responding to stressors to coral reefs and other complex habitats. In the face of global threats to reefs such as climate change, scientists are concerned that much reef
/complex habibat biodiversity could be lost before it is even documented.

ARMS were developed by NOAA National Marine Fisheries Service and Census of Coral Reef Ecosystems partners as a Census of Marine Life (CoML) legacy.

link to ARMS
ARMS’ logistics PDF
Parts PDF, Assembly PDF and Deployement PDF of ARMS boxes
Uninstallation and organisms processings PDF
Coordinators of DEVOTES’ WP5 Innovative Tools

Pristine ARMS and ASU (photo F. Zuberer)

What Purposes do the ARMS Serve?
- Provides a standard method for taxonomic and molecular analysis to assess invertebrate biodiversity
- Improves ability to measure/monitor diversity of cryptic organisms globally over time
- Enhances ecosystem-based management
- Increases ability to monitor/predict ecological impacts of global climate change, particularly ocean warming and acidification

With an increasing scarcity of trained invertebrate taxonomists, ARMS enable researchers to obtain information using molecular techniques, particularly for small, cryptic organisms that constitute the bulk of reef / complex habitats diversity.

This purpose matches up with the themes of the SeasEra programme CIGESMED (Coralligenous based Indicators to evaluate and monitor the “Good Environmental Status” of the MEDiterranean coastal waters) and of the IMBE’s “research axis 7” (Management of biodiversity and natural habitats).

The deployment of ARMS and ASUs, for metagenomic studies in DEVOTES, is progressing in different European places: Basque Country, English Channel, Marseille and Baltic Sea.

Links:
- Sites de Méditerranée Nord-occidentale
- Deployements Ile Riou / Ile de l’Elvine / Cassidaigne
- Monitorings Ile Riou / Ile de l’Elvine / Cassidaigne

decoupe logo IMBE
Bandeau haut IMBE

English


Rechercher

sur ce site

Partenaires

Logo tutelle AMU Logo tutelle CNRS
Logo tutelle IRD Logo tutelle UAPV

Accueil > Plateformes et Services > Techniques et méthodes de terrain > Plongée scientifique > La plongée scientifique à l’IMBE > ARMS - Structures Autonomes de Suivi des Récifs

ARMS - Structures Autonomes de Suivi des Récifs

Les boites ARMS Autonomous Reef Monitoring Structures sont de petites plates-formes [grises, à droite] faites de plaques de PVC empilées, séparées par des entretoises, fixées au fond sous-marin qui sont installées pendant une à trois ans. Une fois ces structures sont récupérées, chaque plaque sera photographiée, les organismes récoltés, puis les scientifiques réaliseront une analyse génomique sur ces organismes qui ont colonisé les ARMS afin de créer un catalogue de diversité qui sera comparé aux autres sites installés dans les différents océans.
Des ASUs Artificial Substrate Units [jaunes, à gauche], conçues pour imiter les crampons d’algues complètent l’installation, se compose de quatre récureurs de casserole attachés sur un piquet planté au voisinage d’un ARMS. Les couches et les trous de maille de ces récureurs fournissent une pléthore d’espaces vitaux pour différents organismes. Une fois sortis de l’eau, ils seront fixés et les animaux qui s’y sont installés seront identifiés, pesés et comptés.
Les ARMS ont été à l’origine créés pour opérer des suivis de la diversité de récifs coralliens. Leur expansion le long des côtes européennes est devenue possible grâce au programme DEVOTES.

La connaissance de ces organismes « moins connus » et de la diversité globale du récif est importante pour répondre efficacement stress subis par les récifs de coraux et d’autres habitats complexes. Face aux menaces globales sur des récifs tels que le changement climatique, les scientifiques craignent que beaucoup de biodiversité des récifs/habitats complexes pourrait être perdue avant même qu’elle ne soit découverte.

Les ARMS ont été développés conjointement par le National Marine Fisheries Service de la NOAA et le Census of Coral Reef Ecosystems, issus du Census of Marine Life (CoML).

lien vers ARMS
logistique ARMS PDF
Pièces PDF, montage PDF et installation PDF des boîtes ARMS
Démontage et récupération des organismes PDF
Responsables du WP5 de DEVOTES Innovative Tools

ARMS et ASU nouvellement installès (photo F. Zuberer)

Quels sont les objectifs de ARMS
- procurer une méthode standard pour les analyses taxonomiques et moléculaires permettant d’évaluer la biodiversité des invertébrés marins
- améliorer la possibilité de mesurer/suivre la diversité cryptique globale au cours du temps
- permettre/améliorer une gestion « écosystémique »
- accroître la possibilité de suivre et de prédire l’impact écologique du changement climatique global, en particulier dû à l’augmentation de la température de l’océan et à l’acidification.

Face à pénurie croissante de taxonomistes d’invertébrés expérimentés, les boîtes ARMS permettent aux chercheurs d’obtenir des informations en utilisant des techniques moléculaires, en particulier pour les petits organismes cryptiques qui constituent l’essentiel de la diversité des récif/ habitats complexes.

Cette problématique recoupe les thèmes du programme SeasEra CIGESMED (Coralligenous based Indicators to evaluate and monitor the « Good Environmental Status » of the MEDiterranean coastal waters) et de l’axe 7 (Management of biodiversity and natural habitats) de l’IMBE.

L’installation des boîtes ARMS et des ASUs, dans le but d’études métagénomiques, progresse actuellement dans différents sites européens : Pays Basque, Manche, Marseille et mer Baltique

Liens :
- Sites de Méditerranée Nord-occidentale
- Installations Ile Riou / Ile de l’Elvine / Cassidaigne
- Suivis Ile Riou / Ile de l’Elvine / Cassidaigne