decoupe logo IMBE
Bandeau haut IMBE



sur ce site


Logo tutelle AMU Logo tutelle CNRS
Logo tutelle IRD Logo tutelle UAPV

Accueil > Plateformes et Services > Techniques et méthodes de terrain > Plongée scientifique > ESDP membership

ESDP membership

par FERAL Jean-Pierre - 17 mars 2013

The overall aim of the ESDP is to encourage the best possible representation from all European member states (to include all nations that are approved for EU scientific funding). Membership is at the nation level but with an identified representative. At the earliest opportunity the national representative should be able to demonstrate recognition and support from a national scientific diving community or committee. Where possible, any national body or community should have, or be seeking, formal backing from a national authority that is one that has principal responsibility for occupational scientific diving ; it may be a governmental, funding or insurance agency that may qualify the divers and/or support their employment.

The ESDP database for the recognition of national licences for scientific diving in European countries is here.

Present national representatives at the ESDP (March 2017)

  • Martin Sayer - Panel Chair (November 2012 - 2016), National Environment Research Council (NERC), United Kingdom
  • Jean-Pierre Féral - Panel Chair (2008-2012 and 2016-to date), Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), Station Marine d’Endoume, France
  • Philipp Fischer, Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research (AWI), Germany
  • Massimo Ponti, Italian Association of Scientific Divers (AIOSS), Italy
  • Jouni Leinikki, Alleco Ltd, Finland
  • Maria Asplund, Kristineberg Marine Research Station, Sweden
  • Alain Norro, Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences (RBINS), Belgium
  • Donat Petricioli, Croatia
  • Pedro Neves, Portugal
  • Dimitar Berov, Bulgaria

Associated members

  • Thanos Dialianis, Greece
  • Manuel Martin-Bueno, Spain

European Marine Board

  • Joke Coopman

Back to the ESDP