Palaeoenvironments and Macroecological Process (PPM)

Team leaders: E. Gandouin, A. Leriche

This team studies the organization and dynamics of ecological systems by considering processes at different scales: a spa-tial scale (from the Earth to the local system), a biological scale (from the individual to the biomes and the biogeographical regions) or a temporal scale (from the season to a few decades , from the climate cycle to a few million years). The main objective is to analyze the impact of past, present and future global changes (climate variability, human activities, etc.) on the living world, landscape dynamics and ecosystem services.
It is based on specialties allowing paleoenvironmental reconstructions coupled with macroeconomic and biogeographical approaches based on data acquisition, qualitative and quantitative modeling and phylogeography. The studies concern special study areas of the Mediterranean basin and of western Asia as well as of the whole globe.

PMP Research interests (T1)

Key words

Climate of the past - dendroecology - Biogeography - paleoecology - Human impact - Phylogeography - Agroecology - Modeling - Macroecology


Research Themes

In this team, two main themes stand out:

Palaeoenvironments, climate change and human action
This theme brings together specialists in paleoecology, ecology, biology, archeology and Quaternary geology, who recon-struct ancient environments and climates (physical and biological components) using a multidisciplinary and multi-conceptual systemic approach. The existing scientific axes will be maintained and strengthened through collaborations with: 1) geologists and geneticists in order to integrate biomolecular markers and sedimentary DNA which will allow us to specify, on a taxonomic scale finer than that delivered by biological markers, the biodiversity of ancient ecosystems and agrosystems; 2) statisticians and geochemists in order to specify the climatic signal delivered by independent biological markers (insects, pollen, bacteria and archae) of the most remarkable sedimentary series such as those studied in high temporal resolution or exceptional as the Asian series dating back to 2 million years at least.
We will concentrate our efforts on sites located in continental and insular environments in the Mediterranean, Middle-East and Central Asia, which correspond to areas where climate-man-environment relations have been crucial for the structuring of landscapes, ecosystems and the development of agriculture. We will also work on non-Mediterranean sites in Western Europe and the boreal regions of North America to improve knowledge on the impact of global climate change on ecosystem dynamics.

Macroecology and biogeography of global changes
Recent environmental changes (climate, land and sea use, pollution, etc.) pose considerable risks to the functioning of ecosystems, biodiversity conservation and human well-being. Current scenarios of different environmental forcings (ur-banization, artificialisation and fragmentation of natural environments, greenhouse gases, agricultural and fisheries prac-tices, etc.) all provide indications of aggravated risks in the future for human interactions Ecosystems. Given the im-portance of these environmental issues, research methods and the evaluation of trajectories leading to resistant and / or resilient systems have yet to be developed. This research involves socio-ecological approaches with better consideration of observations, results of controlled experiments, and numerical modeling.
This field of research is particularly important in the Mediterranean region where the various predictive studies suggest that environmental changes will be particularly acute, in particular in the areas of socio-economic and biodiversity chang-es, due to global warming leading to increased water stress, agricultural intensification, rising sea levels and acidification. Advances in biogeographic and environmental modeling make it possible to compare the spatial patterns of the function-ing of the socio-ecosystem and the distribution of biodiversity, both in retrospective approaches (weight of climatic and human impacts of the past, importance of refuge zones) and predictive.
All this research is integrated in a context of interaction with social and political actors, at national and international level. The transition to a more sustainable ecological resource use, both short and long term, will require the recognized scien-tific expertise of the members of this team.

PPM Team members

Team leaders : E. Gandouin, A. Leriche

Researchers and engineers

Cécile Albert (CR CNRS)
Maryse Alvitre (TCE CNRS)
Valérie Andrieu-Ponel (MC AMU)
Dahvya Belkacem Doume (TCN CNRS)
Alberte Bondeau(CR CNRS)
Wolfgang Cramer (DR CNRS)
Morteza Djamali(CR CNRS)
Emmanuel Gandouin (MC AMU)
Frédéric Guibal (CR CNRS)
Frédéric Guiter (MC AMU)
Marianick Juin (AI CNRS)
Agathe Leriche (MC AMU)
Michèle Leydet (ASI AMU)
Frédéric Magnin (CR CNRS)
Frédéric Médail (PR AMU)
Cécile Miramont (MC AMU)
Philippe Ponel (CR CNRS)
Brigitte Talon (MC AMU)

Paléoenvironnements et Processus Macroécologiques (PPM)

Animateurs d’équipe : E. Gandouin, A. Leriche

Cette équipe étudie l’organisation et la dynamique des systèmes écologiques en considérant les processus à différentes échelles spatiales (du système Terre au local), biologiques (de l’individu aux biomes et les régions biogéographiques) ou temporelles (de la saison à quelques décennies, du cycle climatique à quelques millions d’années). L’objectif principal est d’analyser l’impact des changements globaux (variabilité climatique, activités humaines...) passés, présents et futurs sur le monde vivant, la dynamique des paysages et les services écosystémiques.
Elle repose sur des spécialités permettant des reconstitutions paléoenvironnementales couplées à des approches macroécologiques et biogéographiques basées sur l’acquisition de données, la modélisation qualitative et quantitative et la phylogéographie. Les études conduites concernent les régions d’étude privilégiées du bassin méditerranéen et de l’ouest de l’Asie mais aussi de l’ensemble du globe.

Les recherches de l’équipe PPM (Eq.1)

Mots clés

Paléoécologie - Macroécologie - Agroécologie - dendroécologie - Paléoclimats - Phylogéographie - Biogéographie - Modélisation


Thèmes de recherche

Dans cette équipe, deux thèmes principaux se distinguent :

• Paléoenvironnements, changements climatiques et action humaine
Ce pôle regroupe des spécialistes de paléoécologie, d’écologie, de biologie, d’archéologie et de géologie du Quaternaire qui reconstruisent les anciens environnements et climats (composante physique et biologique) en utilisant une approche systémique multi- et transdisciplinaire et multi-conceptuelle. Les axes scientifiques existants seront mainte-nus et renforcés grâce à des collaborations avec : 1) des géologues et des généticiens afin d’intégrer des marqueurs biomoléculaires et l’ADN sédimentaire qui nous permettront de préciser, à une échelle taxonomique plus fine que celle livrée par les marqueurs biologiques classiques, la biodiversité des anciens éco- et agrosystèmes ; 2) des statisticiens et des géochimistes afin de préciser le signal climatique livré par des marqueurs biologiques indépendants (in-sectes, pollen, bactéries et archées) des séries sédimentaires les plus remarquables comme celles étudiées en haute résolution temporelle, ou exceptionnelles comme les séries asiatiques remontant à 2 millions d’années au moins.
Nous centrerons nos efforts sur des chantiers situés en milieu continental et insulaire du monde méditerranéen, moyen-oriental et d’Asie centrale qui correspondent à des zones où les relations climat-homme-milieu ont été déterminantes pour la structuration des paysages, des écosystèmes et le développement de l’agriculture. Nous travaillerons aussi sur des chantiers non-méditerranéens d’Europe occidentale et des régions boréales d’Amérique du Nord afin d’améliorer les connaissances sur l’impact des changements climatiques globaux sur les dynamiques des écosystèmes.
• Macroécologie et biogéographie des changements globaux
Les changements environnementaux récents (climat, utilisation des territoires et de la mer, pollution etc.) présentent des risques considérables pour le fonctionnement des écosystèmes, pour la conservation de la biodiversité et pour le bien-être humain. Les scénarios actuels des différents forçages de l’environnement (urbanisation, artificialisation et fragmentation des milieux naturels, gaz à effet de serre, pratiques agricoles et de la pêche, etc.) fournissent tous des indications de risques aggravés dans le futur pour les interactions homme-écosystèmes. Face à l’importance de ces enjeux environnementaux, les méthodes de recherche et de l’évaluation de trajectoires conduisant à des systèmes résistants et/ou résilients restent encore à développer. Ces recherches impliquent des approches socioécologiques avec une meilleure prise en compte des observations, des résultats d’expériences contrôlés, et de la modélisation numérique.
Ce champ de recherche est particulièrement important en région méditerranéenne où les diverses études prédictives suggèrent que les changements environnementaux seront particulièrement aigus, notamment dans les domaines des changements socio-économiques et de biodiversité, en raison du réchauffement climatique engendrant l’augmentation du stress hydrique, de l’intensification agricole, de la montée du niveau de la mer et de son acidification. Les progrès des modélisations biogéographiques et environnementales permettent d’envisager de confronter les patrons spatiaux du fonctionnement du socioécosystème et de distribution de la biodiversité, à la fois dans des approches rétrospectives (poids des impacts climatiques et humains du passé, importance des zones refuges) et prédictives.
Toutes ces recherches s’intègrent dans un contexte d’interaction avec des acteurs sociaux et politiques, au niveau national et international. La transition vers un usage des ressources écologiques plus durable, en court mais aussi long terme, va demander l’expertise scientifique reconnue des membres de cette équipe.